Destination Guide
CHONBURI
Attraction
Back
approximately 500 meters from the town hall, the shrine houses a replica of the Phra Phutthasihing the one that was cast in pure silver. The image receives utmost respect by the locals.
Khao Cha-Ang
Khao Cha-Ang is a stone mountain situated in the middle of a plain in Bo Thong District. It has gold, minerals and semi-precious stones and is approximately 30 km. away from the district center, Khao Cha-Ang also features a cave; home of over one hundred thousand fruit bats and 5 levels of Khao Cha-Ang features the natural wonders of stalactites and stalagmites.
Khao Cha-Ang is also a religious place where monks can a religious place where monks can observe Buddhist principles, known as Dharma. The mountain caves are classified as the Water Cave, Bat Cave, Laplae Cave, and te Dragon Cave. After visiting all these caves tourists can continue to the Ang Phak Nam waterfall
|
Ko Si Chang
Si Chang island is a perfect getaway for travelers addicted to history and having fun. This tiny island has a population of only 500 people, mostly fishermen who practice the old way of life.
Travelling to Ko Si Chang
There are boats departing to Ko Si Chang daily, on an hourly basis from the Pier in Si Racha. The first boat leaves at 6.00 a.m. and the last departs at 7 p.m. The fare is 30 bahts/person. (one-way). If you dont plan to stay overnight on the island, try catching the last boat which leaves at 6.00 p.m. from the island back to Si Racha.
Travelling around Ko Si Chang
Motorcycle taxis will take you anywhere on the island. The fare ranges from 20 30 bahts, depending on the destination. You can negotiate the fare down to the local price after shopping around.
Phra Chuthathut Ratchathan
Phra Chuthathut Ratchathan, which was named after Prince Chuthathut who was born here, is the only palace located in the sea. King Rama V had it built in 1892 as a holiday retreat and a convalescence home for his wives and children. The funds for the construction of this palace came from his private treasury.
The king loved to visit Ko Si Chang to admire its magnificent scenery and tranquil atmosphere. However, in the later years, the island served as a big cargo station where numerous transactions with foreign ships took place.
Si Chang Palace
Si Chang Palace was built during the reign of King Rama V as a summer palace. The landscaping of the palace compound was carefully planned with residential quarters, lawns, pools, and swamps designed and located in ascending tiers from the beach up to the top of the hill, alternated with frangipani trees (Plumeria acuminata) of different colors.
Each building was named after the Kings consorts who supervised its decoration, for example, Watthana Mansion, Phongsi Mansion, and Aphirom Mansion. On the beach there is a green house made of wood decorated with gingerbread patterns.
The palace was abandoned when the French occupied the island in 1894. Thus, the construction of the main throne hall called "Man-That Phairot" was unfortunately stopped. In 1910 the king ordered the removal of the incomplete hall to Dusit Palace in Bangkok, where construction was finally completed and was later granted with the name "Vimanmek". The place is now a museum and is open to the public.
The white Chedi that overlooks Hat Tha Wang, is definitely part of a temple called Wat Atsadang Nimit". Built near the palace, the temple was the place where King Rama V meditated. The temple, which was a mix of western and eastern architectural styles, houses an outstanding Buddha image.
Adventure lovers should not miss the opportunity to explore Tham Saowapha, located not far from Wat Atsadang Nimit. This relatively large limestone cave plunges deep into the island.